PDA

View Full Version : Semi autos for hunting ?

BIGHUNTERFISH
03-02-2007, 04:50 PM
I have always been a bolt action fan,I have very little experience with lever,semi auto etc.So I was wondering what do you guys think of semi auto matics for hunting big game?I also know that target practicing with a 22 can and probably will make you a better shot,but if your a bolt action hunter does it make sense to have a 22 semi auto,your thoughts ?:|

Murder
03-02-2007, 04:56 PM
I make it a habit of putting about 500-1000 rounds down range each month with my bolt action .22 lr

It definitely makes me a better shooter. I shoot from different positions too.

My buddy shoots a semi, and he can get back on target faster than I can, so in that regard, I would say go for it, I think it is more technique than the gun itself. Shoot from lots of different positions. Semi automatics are part of the evolution of firearms. They exist because of the aformentioned fact. Aside from getting back on target, in a self defense situation, you can just start pulling the trigger, which would be a heck of a lot quicker than cycling a bolt, lever or pump

My .02 cents

Rainwater
03-02-2007, 05:04 PM
Until it jams. My buddy has a pump Remington 760 (I beleive that's the model) in 30.06 and it is amazingly fast, stays on target and does not jam like it's autoloading cousin just might. He's shot a lot of whitetails with it. I had a gas operated Winchester shotgun that was a jamming nightmare even when cleaned regularly, not a fan of S/A's for serious stuff.

Gateholio
03-02-2007, 05:17 PM
I've often thought that if a guy was serious about his marksmanshio for hunitng, he shoudl have 3 rilfes- A 22LR, a bolt action 223 similar to his hunting rifle, and his big game rifle.