PDA

View Full Version : elk calling early season

Grolar
06-24-2014, 09:24 PM
Im new to the art of elk calling ....I usually spot and stalk elk in the late season and I want to get in early season calling for archery season in the kootanenys .....whats calls will work best and what brands to pick from.....any advice will help

.300WSMImpact!
06-24-2014, 09:39 PM
early season I just cow call a bit, mouth reed, early season spot and stalk is a good option

Grolar
06-24-2014, 10:23 PM
Would elk respond to bugles and challenge other bulls in the early season or is that more in the late September

.300WSMImpact!
06-25-2014, 08:33 AM
I have had very little luck with that in early september, I have heard elk bugle in early september but I have not had any luck until later in the month with responses, not saying you cannot I am sure there is a sequence that may work I just have not figured it out

J_T
06-25-2014, 09:52 AM
Would elk respond to bugles and challenge other bulls in the early season or is that more in the late September
I'm very aggressive with my calls. Some days by noon (when it's over) I can't talk we've had so much bugling action. I might change up my calls if one isn't getting the response I'm looking for. Being aggressive doesn't mean, scaring off the other bulls. It's about matching them for tone and style, and helping them get worked up, raking, stomping....

Mikey Rafiki
06-25-2014, 10:18 AM
Mostly cow calls and some light bugling. I'm not trying to sound like a big bull in archery season because I'm willing to bag any decent sized bull that comes in. Don't expect them to respond so be prepared if they sneak up on you. Two of my last 3 elk came in silent.

markt308
06-25-2014, 10:30 AM
You never know early season. You might have no luck with the first nine bulls, then all of a sudden that tenth bull wants to chat like crazy and comes right in! Mostly mouth Reed cow calls for me

Grolar
06-25-2014, 11:45 AM