PDA

View Full Version : Kyuquot fishing

Brew
06-23-2014, 06:56 AM
Headed to kyuquot Thursday for some fishing with some work buddy's. This is my first time heading over there. I hear the fishing is great this time of year. Just wondering what guys like to use off the downriggers up there? Planning on taking most of my plugs,spoons and hoochies. What color combos have you guys had luck with? And at what depths are usually fished in that area. I used to fishing rivers inlet where we fish close to the rocks and kelp beds and not very deep but I think we may be fishing deeper in kyuquot.

Blair
06-23-2014, 10:12 AM
I have fished there a lot, but always in early August. We use mostly anchovies and spoons - cop cars up to 6" have produced well. I always fish with a flasher on the cannon ball and my line straight to the bait about 5' above the flasher and a bit behind. Lots of the areas in close we fish at 30' to 45' right in close to the kelp. We have got lots of fish up to mid 40's that way. If the cohos are in you can be really busy with them as well. good luck.

RB2
06-23-2014, 10:30 AM
Second the cop car spoon, worked well for me last year. Also a pilchard spoon did well. Loved fishing Kyuquot more than Nootka, wish we were going back there this year but its back to Nootka.

MB_Boy
06-23-2014, 10:38 AM
Also have spent a lot of time there from June thru August.

Earlier like now...green glow spoons in a 4.0 or blue/glow spoons as well. J55 needlefish Hoochie....or a white glo turd Hoochie on bottom. If the fish are deep.....GLO/UV are great. Very easy to bounce along bottom and get springs, Hali, lings and Rockies.

If the coho aren't thick my favourite is running bait...5 or 6" herring in anchovie teaser head. 602 glo Krippled K teaser head was a killer last year for me.

Definitely try larger plugs and if they are UV....even better. If pilchards are around, plugs and spoons in pilchard patterns work well.