PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie Here, Advice Appreciated

jonsnow
04-19-2014, 11:03 AM
Hey guys, I'm an 18-year-old Vancouver guy and I'm hoping to go hunting with a crossbow in August. I don't have any gear nor a license right now, because I think it might be better to hear from you guys first before I buy anything. What are some things that I should/must know?

Also, what's a place that I can hunt deers that's close to Vancouver?

Cheers,
Jon

jjsachmoe
04-19-2014, 11:20 AM
Hi Jon
Have you completed the Hunter Core course? I see you say you don't have a license right now, but you need a hunter number to get a license and you can't get the number without the course.
JJ

r106
04-19-2014, 12:02 PM
Step #1 if you want to hunt with a rifle get working on getting your PAL now

#2 Get your CORE ( hunter education course ) Once you get that you get a Hunter # card then you can buy a license and tags

#3 Get a hunting synopsis. There you find the regulations and seasons. Deer season generally starts Sept 1 for archery. There is no Deer season that I can think of off the top of my head that is in August around Vancouver.

#4 if your interested in early season the you better do some research on how to take care of the meat in warmer temps

#5 get gear. Rangfinder, Good bino's, knife and the list goes on

Do you know anyone that hunts that can mentor you? Trying right off the bat to go for Blacktail with a crossbow is not an easy thing to do.

Why do you want to hunt in August??

jonsnow
04-19-2014, 08:34 PM
Thanks a lot guys. I just got my hands on a copy of the CORE manual and will begin studying it quite soon.

jonsnow
04-19-2014, 08:34 PM
Really appreciate it, man. I want to hunt in August because I gotta go back to school in September. How long does the average hunting trip take, by the way?

r106
04-19-2014, 08:53 PM