PDA

View Full Version : Relocated to Sparwood.

CodyJ
03-14-2014, 04:41 PM
Hello all,

My wife and I decided to pull the trigger on this one, to good of a job opportunity to pass up, and the area is just amazing.
We are both very excited to call the Elk Valley home, after spending my whole life on Vancouver Island, as well as Quebec, this is a drastic change indeed.

New area to explore, mountains to climb, beautiful rivers to fish, and some brand new country and species to hunt. I am so stoked to get out and find places to hunt, learn about the game here, and experience hunting in the Rocky Mountains!

I will never ask anyone for their hunting spots or "general area", only the occasional pointer on chasing a species of animal I have no experience with. I have never really hunted serious mountain country before, and will be learning as I go.

looking forward to a new adeventure.

Cody

bridger
03-14-2014, 04:46 PM
Happy for you. Moving from the island to the Kootenay's next best thing to the Peace Country!

2chodi
03-14-2014, 04:51 PM
There a bunch of really good guys involved in the local clubs and BCWF in Sparwood and Fernie. You might want to join one of the clubs.

North49
03-14-2014, 05:40 PM
Welcome to the Elk Valley! I just moved to Sparwood last month, after living in the lower mainland for 7 years. I recommend joining the Fernie Rod and Gun Club. They have a pretty nice range and membership is very cheap http://www.ferniergc.com . If you love the outdoors you're going to love it here, there is so much to do. I can't wait to start exploring the backcountry. I assume you got a job as pit utility at one of the mines?

Mikey Rafiki
03-14-2014, 05:46 PM
Born and raised in the Elk Valley. I would be happy to get you pointed in the right direction. As long as you can access the bush you are in a honey hole. Just PM me.

quadrakid
03-14-2014, 06:21 PM