PDA

View Full Version : New To the Salt

Riles1203
02-10-2014, 01:49 AM
Hey guys Im new to the island and never fished in the ocean at any point. Im looking to get into the ocean and I don't have a boat so I'm looking for info on how to fish the surf around here. Mostly I'm after anything that tastes good and species that you can fish all year long size and fight doesn't matter too much to me. Cod, Flatfish and Greenling came to mind i'm assuming you would use some kind of bottom fishing method for them and I assume halibut aren't around the shore. And is it possible to fish for, and keep any species of salmon all year round? Any tips would be much appreciated thanks guys.

Spy
02-10-2014, 02:12 AM
Off the breakwater would be a good place to start.
Stop in at Island Outfitters on Douglas st & they can set you up with any gear you might need. Good luck and welcome to the rock.

02-10-2014, 09:07 AM
Where you live would be a great help.

EDIT: pm me, i might miss this thread.

rides bike to work
02-10-2014, 09:18 AM
Find A spot where there are some rocky bluffs cliffs dropping off into the ocean use a buzz bomb or similar lure tipped with some bacon or other bait cast it off the rocks and drop I to the bottom and jig it up and down. Shoul get you some cod and other neat creatures.

greenhorn
02-10-2014, 09:32 AM
There are some bluffs in the Sooke area that you can shore fish. Salmon can be caught on buzz bombs. It's a little hit an miss and you'll catch kelp more than anything.

I have also Kayak-fished at Gordon's beach (sooke area). Easy fishery where you're never more than 200 yards from shore. We've slayed the salmon from kayaks there.

The Sooke river estuary has a good fall chum run that can be fun.

The Chinook also runs in some Sooke streams but getting that info will cost ya'

Port renfrew also has good river/shore fishing.

Enjoy the island!!

Riles1203
02-11-2014, 08:05 PM