PDA

View Full Version : Legal to hunt from a boat in other provinces???

Billyisgr8
02-04-2014, 08:29 PM
I came across this video and at 16:55 saw a moose shot at while in a boat. He said in the beginning... in British Columbia. I thought hunting from a boat is illegal in BC?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78cPnoXgke4

limit time
02-04-2014, 08:34 PM
In BC, If it has an outboard, you can shoot from it. No forward motion and engine out of water. BUT! I am no expert.
waterfowlers do it all the time.

Fred1
02-04-2014, 08:40 PM
In BC, the boat - if it has a motor, the motor must be "disabled" ie motor out of water and or key removed from ignition prior to the shot. It can be in motion. I do believe the game must have its belly free of the water to be legal - ie seeing air between the water surface and belly of the critter. You cant pound 'em swimming!

000buck
02-04-2014, 08:46 PM
Is it not the first point of articulation, the ankle, then they are considered to be swimming? I may be wrong but I hope not I've passed up a few shots because of this possibly misguided belief

BiG Boar
02-04-2014, 08:47 PM
Totally legal to shoot from a boat. If they were motoring up to it, no.

lip_ripper00
02-04-2014, 08:55 PM
I have shot a few moose drifting down a river, while they stand knee deep looking at the floating rubber thing moving toward them.:wink:

GotaGun
02-04-2014, 09:04 PM
Best I can remember from regs is :

Duck hunting= boat must be anchored/beached or tied off to log etc.( no drifting etc)

Moose etc.= only if your chasing a wounded animal(already shot).You can't go chase down something that is swimming across a lake.

lip_ripper00
02-04-2014, 09:12 PM

Duck hunting= boat must be anchored/beached or tied off to log etc.( no drifting etc)

Moose etc.= only if your chasing a wounded animal(already shot).You can't go chase down something that is swimming across a lake.

Keep reading:mrgreen:

two-feet
02-04-2014, 09:18 PM
Not only is it legal, its super fun!

GotaGun