PDA

View Full Version : first time duck hunter with no luck

Shea_G
01-03-2014, 10:05 AM
This is my first year I've gotten all my paper work together and trying to give duck hunting a go. I've been out 4 times with my dad, tried boundary bay and Lardner marsh but not once have we ever seen a duck come close enough to take a shot. Both in full camp, hidden well, have a good number of decoys, been in all types of weather and tides but it just doesn't seem like there are any ducks out there. Are these just not great places to go? Or is it a bad time of year? Any suggestions?

Kudu
01-03-2014, 10:22 AM
This is my first year I've gotten all my paper work together and trying to give duck hunting a go. I've been out 4 times with my dad, tried boundary bay and Lardner marsh but not once have we ever seen a duck come close enough to take a shot. Both in full camp, hidden well, have a good number of decoys, been in all types of weather and tides but it just doesn't seem like there are any ducks out there. Are these just not great places to go? Or is it a bad time of year? Any suggestions?

The ducks have been shot at for a couple of months now and only the bright ones have survived - the stupid ones have been removed from the gene pool.

To be successful now, you have to be smarter than all the hunters that got to those spots before you did, or you need to find private land where the ducks have had it easy and are still kinda dumb!

Stop hunting ducks now and start watching ducks, pattern them - find their honey holes and ambush them.

Good luck and happy hunting

kyleklassen
01-03-2014, 07:32 PM
you might do better up the Harrison way....I've heard it's been good...worth a look.

Kudu
01-04-2014, 05:43 PM
you might do better up the Harrison way....I've heard it's been good...worth a look.

Sure - go and find some private land around Harrison ...I have heard that the geese just tumble out the skies there!