PDA

View Full Version : First deer

skuntor
12-11-2013, 09:43 PM
So this is my first year hunting and I had passed up a couple spring back bear and gotten skunked on about 3 deer trips so far. I had spent a lot of money on gas and decided to stay closer to home in region 2 for a December blacktail hunt. I made plans and headed out with another rookie buddy. Neither of us had either shot or seen an animal field dressed.

I was dressed to get out of the truck and hike in the rain. I had been a little bored my previous road hunt trips and ended up more sore from sitting in the truck all day than I would have hiking all day. The plan was to drive a little to get the lay of the land and then find a spot to start hiking. Once we are in the bush we drive about a half hour and I almost drive past a doe up a steep cut clock about 30 yards away. I stop and think maybe a buck will walk out. After about 30 seconds of watching the tree line I glance at the does and saw a spike. What an idiot... it's a little buck! I put the binos on it and confirm it's a 2pt (barely)!

Trying not to screw up this gift wrapped and broadside chunk of meat, I grab a round for the model 99 and slowly open my door with eyes on the buck. Looks at us and goes back to browsing. My feet are on the ground and butt is off the seat when I chamber a round and pull the gun up. One look in the scope triple confirms it's a buck. Safety off, aim behind shoulder and bang. I see it jump and a gush of blood spurt out as it tries to run.

He made about 20 yards before we see him pile up out of sight up the hill. I try to control my breathing as we stand and silently high five and wait a couple minutes but I know he's done. A nasty scramble up the hill and we see a thick blood trail and then him with antlers stuck in the ground. After a few hero shots we try try to get him down the hill. Good thing he was small because it's a nasty hill. I end up grabbing all four legs myself and just dragging him down.