PDA

View Full Version : Non-Resident Canadian hunting opportunities

cpwrestler
11-27-2013, 12:10 PM
Hi, I've been scouring the BC hunting regs and I think I've got the non-resident situation figured out but its not really very clear so I wanted to confirm my findings. As I see it, non-residents are allowed to hunt sheep and most non-LEH animals in open areas (non-LEH) in BC so long as they are accompanied by a resident host. Have I got that figured out correctly?

I'm a Yukon resident that has recently been bitten by the sheep hunting bug and I'm hoping for a chance to take a rocky mountain bighorn. I can't say for sure yet, but I'm even considering trading a Yukon moose hunt for the sheep hunt.

Thanks for the help in advance... As you can see I'm new to the forum and I've been enjoying reading all your stories!

Stone Sheep Steve
11-27-2013, 12:16 PM
You're out of luck for a hunter host for sheep. You will need to hire a GO.
Goats-yes....but sheep-no.

SSS

cpwrestler
11-27-2013, 12:29 PM
dang... I heard that but couldn't find it anywhere in the regs... ah well, guess I have to move to BC after I'm done up here!

Stone Sheep Steve
11-27-2013, 12:31 PM
Would be cheaper to move here...........:roll:.

SSS

deadlyshot19
11-27-2013, 12:45 PM
HUGE money to hunt them as a non-resident, SSS is right it would actually probably be cheaper to move here haha.

BiG Boar
11-27-2013, 01:34 PM
Goats are not available in all areas either. Even if they are GOS.

cpwrestler
11-27-2013, 05:03 PM
Yup, looks like moving is the only option! One more season up here, and maybe I'll start to think about it!

HCH
11-27-2013, 05:21 PM
Sheep and Grizz have to be guided for Non res, sorry bro

Trev769
02-20-2014, 07:41 PM
Hey guys, looking for someone to host a buddy and I on a goat hunt? Were from alberta and would host for some November whitetails or anything else that we can.

steel_ram
02-20-2014, 07:56 PM
Would offering to exchange services be considered guiding?