PDA

View Full Version : Another Whitey Down

Rhyno
11-17-2013, 07:29 PM
With the season’s end in sight and limited time to hunt due to work commitments I headed out today hoping to top up my freezer.
I left early as I wanted to explore a next spot….ok since this is my first year in the kootenays they are all new to me! First light came and went without a deer sighting. I decided it was time for plan B and headed to a spot I noticed during a camping trip. I headed up a spur and soon came across a doe and 2 fawns, quickly followed by another 2. I was starting wonder if I should park and start hiking as there appeared to be a number of deer in the area. With all those does there was bound to be a buck nearby.
I could see another deer 400 yards ish away, but couldn’t quite tell if it was a doe or buck as it was walking in the trees. Hopped out and started to walk to the spot I last saw the deer, it cleared some trees and I confirmed it was a doe. All of a sudden I could hear a fawn bleating with every step as it ran, it met up with another deer after 100 yards of this, which seemed to make it happy.
A few more steps and I looked up to the ridge on my left and could see a number of deer looking at me, there was a least 5, but I stopped counting when I saw antlers. I quickly dropped to my butt, gun on my knee. Once the cross hairs settled…BOOM. For a second I thought I missed as he bolted. To my relief he didn’t go far before keeling over. The freezer is now full…mission accomplished!
http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/medium/asfound.jpg

avadad
11-17-2013, 07:38 PM
Congratulations. Gotta love filing the freezer.

B-rad
11-17-2013, 07:41 PM
Good job,,,nothin wrong with that buck at all!!

Everett
11-17-2013, 07:42 PM
That's a nice EK basket rack on him. Should be real good eating.

sobirch
11-17-2013, 08:33 PM