PDA

View Full Version : New to waterfowl... want to try for Snow Geese

deltawaterfowler
11-14-2013, 12:02 AM
Hi there,

First post on the site. I'm new to waterfowl, heck new to hunting in general, but excited to get my feet wet. So far we haven't had much luck, but not worried. My friend and I have been doing lots of spotting in the Ladner area and along Boundary Bay. It seems that ducks are abound, but the snow geese seem pretty elusive. So far the most geese we've seen have been along Roberts bank, but coaxing them down without a tonne of decoys and access to a field seems like an impossible task. Another spot we my try would be the two little "islands" just off the tip of the Reifel bird sanctuary which would be by boat only. I also thought about possibly setting up some decoys somewhere along the jetty in the water, but if the river is moving too quick, it might be dangerous and/or not offer enough cover to even work.

We're in the North Delta area and would love to know if there are any other areas close to home that would be worth checking out.

Thanks in advance and happy hunting!

Kudu
11-14-2013, 06:44 AM
Hi there,

First post on the site. I'm new to waterfowl, heck new to hunting in general, but excited to get my feet wet. So far we haven't had much luck, but not worried. My friend and I have been doing lots of spotting in the Ladner area and along Boundary Bay. It seems that ducks are abound, but the snow geese seem pretty elusive. So far the most geese we've seen have been along Roberts bank, but coaxing them down without a tonne of decoys and access to a field seems like an impossible task. Another spot we my try would be the two little "islands" just off the tip of the Reifel bird sanctuary which would be by boat only. I also thought about possibly setting up some decoys somewhere along the jetty in the water, but if the river is moving too quick, it might be dangerous and/or not offer enough cover to even work.