PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking to duck hunt in ladner

blacksn95
10-28-2013, 05:41 PM
Hi All!! I'm fairly new to waterfowling and was wondering of anyone can show me the ropes in the lowermainland? Me and my friend have tried (unsuccessfully) to duck hunt out in boundary bay... I jist someone to show us what to do and what to get (decoys, calls etc)

thanks,

Vince

Moe.JKU
10-29-2013, 10:42 AM
From what i have seen out there which is where i started last year. All most of the shots you take are just pass shooting. I found more success to happen when its rainy and windy out there, just more ducks in the air.
This year we have a field and it has increased out success by leaps and bounds. First thing i would suggest is get a copy of the fraser valley map look where you are aloud to shot, knock on doors see if they will let you.
For a call tallk to blacktail on here he makes a very good call. Actually looking to get a few more from him fairly soon.
Just keep getting out there, you will start to see some patterns in the ducks, notice what spooks them, areas they like to sit in etc. Thats my limited experience help, maybe someone else will pitch in, but its hard to find good fields yourself, let alone people to take you out to those fields in the fraser valley.

Kudu
10-29-2013, 11:11 AM
Go to the bottom of 64 street - make your way down to the water - set up robo duck, get yourself into lay down blind - blow on duck call - shoot ducks when you see their feet.

If that fails then find a field - get permission - retry steps above.

widger
10-29-2013, 11:44 AM