PDA

View Full Version : Elk and Clear Cuts

kootenay_jack
10-19-2013, 04:31 PM
This is my first year hunting, and I feel very over whelmed by the amount of things I have no clue about. I got an elk tag but with one day left I fell I have wasted my time.

I was wondering how elk react to clear cuts that are a few years old and have some new growth? like moose that are fringe animals, or do they just like to cross them to get to the good eats? Do they like to eat fire weed? Am I wasting my time going to these places? And are mornings or evenings better?

Any and all advice would be great, for hunting next year.

hawk-i
10-19-2013, 05:00 PM
Don't feel like you wasted your money....if you learnt something it is money well spent! If Elk are in the area, yes, they will use clearcuts with some new growth on it. Elk are primarily grazers, while moose are mostly browsers so their respective food intake is different. However both will and do use clearcuts. Early morning before sunrise and shortly after are as good as sunset and shortly after. Also if there is not much of a moon, the mid afternoons can and are productive as well. Deer in particular will often be out feeding from noon til 2 or so...during the rut, mid afternoon does have a fair amount of buck activity....keep at it, maybe next year will be luckier for you!
One of the main things I've learnt over the years of hunting is to HUNT WHERE THE ANIMALS ARE! Do a lot of scouting and if not much FRESH sign shows up, don't waste your time, move on and look for a better spot. I spend 90% of my hunting time hunting for a spot to hunt...once you've found that spot the remaining 10% of your hunting time will usually reward you with success.
Don't limit your hunting to one specific area, be mobile and able to move if things aren't looking good.
Enjoy and good luck!

junkyard_g
10-19-2013, 05:03 PM