PDA

View Full Version : I've shot a deer... now what?

elfhunter
10-16-2013, 05:32 PM
Hi! I am new to the sport and to this forum. I am preparing for an upcoming hunt for Mule deer with a buddy of mine. I don't have the space/experience/confidence to butcher my own meat, so I wish to bring it somewhere descent/reputable close to where I live. (Mission, B.C.) Can you guys suggest where I should bring my meat once I come back to town, and what the protocol would be? (Do I make an appointment or just show up) My second question (which should have been my first) is after I have shot, cleaned and skinned my deer we may end up hunting for a few more days after the hunt. (fill my buddy's tag) What is the proper way to keep the meat from spoilage? Is there something I am missing?

Thanks for your time...

caddisguy
10-16-2013, 05:39 PM
Check out the meat cutters list (top sticky thread in this section)

I'll leave the second part of your question for someone who has done it... though I'd guess if it's cold enough you can leave the quarters hanging deer socks. I think most people use some black pepper and diluted vinegar as well.

remington666
10-16-2013, 05:49 PM
remember to mark your tag right after shooting your deer ,gut it, hang it and skin it ,depending on the temperature ,if it is below freezing you are good ,if above zero find shade and hang and wrap your deer in cheese cloth to keep the bugs off ,you should be good for a couple of days .Just make sure to keep it out of direct sunshine and as for a meat cutter i recomend Ennis farm in langley Mark is a good guy but closer to home for you is Sumas meats in abotsford which is a good place place if you get to deal with the son ulli .good luck

monasheemountainman
10-16-2013, 05:52 PM