Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What's a good rifle for hunting all ungulates??

Question What's a good rifle for hunting all ungulates??

I'm just starting out hunting and haven't yet purchased a rifle. I only want to buy a single gun right now, but will likely hunt a number of ungulates with it over the next few years. What is a good single caliber for hunting deer, elk, moose, caribou, etc? What is the real-world application for different calibers (ie: why do some people like .338 and others 30-06, etc)?

Any information is greatly appreciated
    Thank you so much
    Cody

2. Site Sponsor

Re: What's a good rifle for hunting all ungulates??

Have a look at this
    http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showth...0-Why-a-magnum

It kinda helps understand it a bit,,, sort of.
    .380win .270 30-06 will do all you need and not hurt your shoulder or pocket.
    .270Win Rules!

Magnums dont kill deer,,,, bullets do.

i have a 30 06 and like it alot. at the range i shoot at in the woods it will kill anything. just get shooting your gun and know it well.

Thanks. The thread was somewhat helpful, but still everyone has their own personal preference. What makes someone have a preference for one caliber over another? Why do you like the .270Win so much? I've shot quite a bit in the past, but not enough to know the difference between the calibers of rifle. I know I want bolt-action, though.

I'll likely be doing some range shooting, as well, so effective range is important, as is (obviously) accuracy.

Get yourself a 270 , very little recoil , flat shooting, and it will kill everything from small game to big game . Deer, Moose and Elk