Thread: Need help with form

Need help with form

I just baught a new bowsight and trying to sight it in has been a hell of a task for me cause i can't seem to get the exact spot everytime i practice , one day ill do great then the other i can't hit the broadside of a barn! any advice would be appreciated guys! thanks jo

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Need help with form

is everything tight? is your string settled or still stretching out? what kind of bow are you shooting ... is your anchor solid... it could be as simple as lighting issues ... how big is your peep?

Pics say 1000 words
    A true Archery Nut

Willing to help and answer archery related questions to the best of my ability ...all you gotta do is ask

Not sure if you are using a peep or not? I had the same issue when I started shooting. I fixed the problem, when I started "haloing" the peep sight around the sight housing. I use a Trophy Ridge VR5 sight and the instructions said to use a 1/4 inch peep. The 1/4 inch peep allows me to see the entire sight housing just within the peep sight. By keeping the "halo" affect equally around the sight housing I have now added an additional reference. Nose to string, knuckle to below hollow under ear lobe, and peep around sight housing. After months of practice it comes naturally, and it comes together without thinking about it. I hope this helps you, as it's an easy fix. One more thing, that helped me. Do not drop your bow right away after the shot. Watch the arrow hit, before dropping bow...much the same as a golfer keeping his head down, and not lifting it right away to watch the ball.
    I have learned silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet strange, I am ungrateful to those teachers.

Bow Walker Guest

What Riverbc said is critical to being consistent in accuracy.