View Poll Results: How do you finish a deer off?

Voters
158. You may not vote on this poll
  • I use my rifle

94 59.49%
  • I use my knife

19 12.03%
  • It isn't an issue - the deer is always dead before it hits the ground

45 28.48%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you finish a deer off?

How do you finish a deer off?

Hi there,

I have been hunting now for a few years and have had modest success. I learned how to hunt from taking my CORE course, going out hunting twice with an experience hunter, reading as much as I could, and going out in the field either by myself, or with a friend to put everything that I have learned into practice.

What I never came across is what to do to finish off a deer (I guess I was so focused on what I had to do to get into the position to make a shot + how to gut and butcher). My first deer I shot through the neck (the deer was facing me only about 30m away). I closed the distance and saw that the deer was still moving around, so I put the barrel behind the deer's ear at the base of the skull and fired off another round (man, was that LOUD). It seemed just the right thing to do. Since then, I have always done the same thing (assuming that the deer is still moving somewhat when I get right up to it).

However, I have come across a couple of other hunter now who have always cut the deers neck to end its life. I am not saying that one is better than the other (honestly, I am too new at hunting to have a strong opinion one way or the other) but I am curious as to what people do.

Hence, the poll:

Cheers,
    BB

2. Site Sponsor

Re: How do you finish a deer off?

a shot behind the ear is way quicker than a slashed neck, also if the deer or moose or elk is not totally disabled, it can kick you and possibly even kill you with a leg kick or antler gore you, a deers hooves are a lethal weapon when they kick,
    sit quietly by the river,,,,,,

eventually the bodies of your enemies will come floating by,,,,