Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: bears!!!to shoot or not to shoot!!!

bears!!!to shoot or not to shoot!!!

i have been hunting for several years and last year i see lots of big black bears so i decided to get a bear tag and of course after i got the tag i didnt see a one...but am still uncertain if wanna shoot a bear...i have head bear meat and i like it...i dont know why i am uncertain bout shootin one maybe it is just becuase i have never seen one shot and gutted before and have heard a few horror stories bout bears not dieing with one shot...anyways i just wanted a few peoples opions on bear hunting and if it would be better to do in spring or early fall i seen lots this past early fall...and with spring commin soon and since i m missin huntin so bad i was thinkin maybe bout going out this spring to find one...is there any benifits of spring bears??? thanx in advance for all the input...

2. Site Sponsor

bone-collector Guest
    blahhhhhh , like any animal you shoot it in the right spot they die, as for what time of year , well spring hunters are usually after the hides as there at there prime right out of the den. in the fall a good berry bear is about as choice eating as it gets without a doubt .

I hunt em mainly in the spring, they seem to be easier to find, from mid May to early June. Just put a well contructed bullet, 7mm 160 gr. as a solid minimum, into the vitals, and you'll kill them without trouble.
    "If you ever go into the bush, there are grizzly bears lurking behind just about every bush, waiting to pounce, so you need a powerful gun, with huge bullets" - Gatehouse ~ 2004

Bear hunting

I’m kind of curious about gutting a bear too. I’ve never seen one done before. I’ve gutted a dozen or so deer but never a bear. My wife and I have eaten bear sausages and pepperoni and we both love it. It gives me another opportunity to spend more time in the woods in the spring.