Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: decoy layouts

decoy layouts

can anyone tell me where i can look at a decoy layout for about 30 decoys i have tried various patterns sometimes it works sometimes it dont havent really hit on the right recipe yet any websites that show a proper layout.thanks in advance.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: decoy layouts

for ducks or geese?

Good Question! I usually just wing it. If I have hunted a spot before I will have an idea of how the birds will come in depending on conditions ( clear, rainy/windy). I try to see up to give the birds an optimal spot to land where they will be in the best position for shooting. I am not an expert and so I look forward to hearing about ways to improve my spread. I also try not to put decoys too close to where I am hiding. Does this make a difference?
    The Rocky Mountains is the Marrow of the World
    "Ain't this somethin'? I told my pap and mam I was going to be a mountain man; acted like they was gut-shot. "Make your life go here, son. Here's where the people is. Them mountains is for Indians and wild men." "Mother Gue", I says "the Rocky Mountains is the marrow of the world," and by God, I was right. Keep your nose in the wind and your eye along the skyline."