Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tipi Tent vs Wall Tent

Tipi Tent vs Wall Tent

Which would you go for? I am leaning towards a tipi tent, since it will never be more than me and 2 or 3 other people hunting tops. They are light, easy to set up (it appears), you can put a stove in them, etc. I'm trying to get my hunting partner to go in on one with me, so I'm looking for pros and cons to both

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Tipi Tent vs Wall Tent

Anyone got any opinions here???

how long you plan on hunting for? I think the tipi is for the minimalist hunter... I really enjoy the ol canvas tent I used to have! its nice to have flat walls on the sides too...

Cabelas also has some lightweight fabric tents too...

do a search there was a bigger thread about tipis not too long ago!
    Thompson Center ProHunter - Owner/Operator

Level A Welder / Fabricator by Trade

I have never had anything to do with the tipis, so can't comment there. I have used wall tents a bit and if you are truck hunting, or can get to your camping spot with your truck, I would say that the wall tent would be the way to go. From what I have read about the tipis, I think they would be great for a back pack hunt where weight is a issue. Dana just did a thread about his new tipi, and it looked preatty sweat.

bhh

Wall tent doesnt get much easier to set up, 15 minutes and she's up.
    For you and two or three people? Thats ideal for a 14x16' wall tent, its what I use.
    Couldnt imagine anything smaller as far comfort goes.
    For other than packing in, I dont think you can beat the wall tent.
    Originally Posted by averagejoe
    thats pretty cool. i bet you get close to those cats some time when there low in the tree hey. when do they have kittens?? do you ever see baby cougars in the tree or do they hide in her pouch?

Originally Posted by wideopenthrottle
    ....I guess some peeps think a mother griz is like a crack whore ready to drop her baby at the first church door she sees...funny