Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Higher power binoculars for west coast glassing - yay/nay?

Higher power binoculars for west coast glassing - yay/nay?

I’ve been looking at maybe getting a pair of 15x or 18x binoculars. I’m undecided if they’re of value in densely treed areas on the coast. I have a pair of Vortex Viper 10x42 in a chest pack so if I were to get anything with more power I would be mounting them to a tripod.
    Most of the searching I’ve done has only lead me to threads about 8-12x binoculars. There doesn’t seem to be too many people using higher powers. Seems like the majority jump to a spotter (I’m not really interested in a spotter). I’m new to hunting and only looking to fill my freezer (just deer for now but hopefully elk and moose one day). I’m not looking for the perfect animal. I haven’t played with a spotter or higher powered binoculars but feel like the binoculars would be better to look through.
    I could end up spending some time in the interior or further north where things open up a more which I would see a higher power being more useful but am unsure of their use in the denser treed areas. Is glassing as useful in the subalpine/denser woods? Just looking for some insight as I sit here with a broken leg staring out the window. It’s not a small purchase for good quality glass so I want to have a better idea of how useful they’d be. It’s more tempting while I can’t walk and it’s the only way to look into the mountains.
    Cheers
    Last edited by brappinburro; 02-05-2024 at 01:01 PM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Higher power binoculars for west coast glassing - yay/nay?

Your vipers are not tripod compatable? There is usually a threaded cap on the front of the barrel of many binos that threads off allowing a tripod adapter to be connected.

My recommendations are: