Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kamloops Whitetail

Kamloops Whitetail

Hey guys,

I know this is out of the blue, but I was reading an old forus and wondering if anyone had any tips on getting a whitetail buck. I'm pretty new to hunting and have never hunted whitetail before. I'm headed up to my parents cabin with a friend for almost a week where I've found some nice sized whitetail sheds but have yet to see one. There are parts where the forest is pretty open and has some grass clearings, there is a spring on one side, some dense forest, and a swamp area. Have seen lots of mule deer just walking around the forrest and lots of deer sign but no whitetail.

How would you go abouts hunting them? Where should I start? Should I try still hunting? Sitting in a clearing with sign and waiting? Any calling or rattling? Is the rut in full effect already? Also have a tree stand that isn't set up yet.

There have also been cow moose on the property and would love to shoot a spike if you had any pointers for that too but from what I hear it's pretty rare. Or any tips on getting a 4 point muley would also be appreciated. Hoping to fill the freezer this year.

Cheers,

Aiden

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Kamloops Whitetail

I would try sitting and waiting. They seem to come out of nowhere,try some rattling and see what happens. They do like to come in downwind side of a rattle or grunt. I have been Hunting them from a tree stand,I really enjoy it up there, only drawback is it can get nasty cold

For whitetail this time of year sit and call and rattle. Look for scrape lines, fresh sign, and does. Still hunting is far less effective on whitetail than mule deer. They seem to spook much easier and don't often stop to look back and present a shot. Should be primetime over the next week for the rut.