Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for hunting mentor or advice

Looking for hunting mentor or advice

I dont know if this is a long shot or not, I'm a youngling, in my 30s i have no friends or family that hunt.
    I dont know how hard it would be to make some pals in the community an find myself a hunter mentor that i could learn from.
    Im fully certified with my core an pal, i have tags in hand, muley an black bear, im setup with what i think is nice starter bow a PSE stinger max, im confident with my shot placement up to an within 60 yards, i also have a 12g Winchester sxp black shadow, i thought might be good for close range black bears an upland game birds?
    Next week im looking at adding to my gear an getting a tikka t3x 30-06.
    I have a very capable vehicle an am knowledge in off roading an have always excelled at recovery, an do enjoy helping people out along the way.
    im a mechanic by trade if anyone wants to know that about me.

besides looking at google maps an google earth an my subscriptions to brmb, i have not the slightest clue where to really start to get serious about feeding my family an friends an filling some freezers. ive never seen any animals in the cut blocks ive been at.

From my knowledge so far ive wondered around reg 2 an have come to the conclusion there is to many wanna be road hunters like my self right now just trying to wonder an see some game, an that there is also to many loud atv partiers in the woods in reg 2 on the weekends.
    ive really only seen 4 bears all sow's with cubs in tow an 6 small doe mule deer, 1 bob cat, 1 raccoon ( i have no interest in harvesting the last 2) in the last 8 months.
    Im very willing to hike an put in some miles on my boots, but i do not believe ive come across country yet that would even be worth the effort.

does anyone have advice for me. If i want to escape highly pressured areas how far should i go?