Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Open to learning about mule deer bucks region 3 in November

Question Open to learning about mule deer bucks region 3 in November

Hey all - I am new to the forum. Thanks for checking this out.

I'm 28 y/o will be doing my first solo mule deer hunt this year. I grew up in Newfoundland (no mulies/whitetails), but I lived in the interior (region 5) from 2018-2021 and accompanied friends on mule deer hunts, so I have some general experience. My mentors taught me a lot about the spiritual aspects of hunting and how to respect the land and animals, but I am by no means an expert hunter and I am still improving my ability to find deer on my own. I finally got my CORE done so I can have my own tags. I just bought a .308, and I feel very excited. I'll mentioned that I have lots of outdoor experience and feel competent at decision making and risk management in the bush.

I now live in region 2 and want to get out for a solo hunt at the end of November. I will likely travel to region 3 (or maybe region 5) for my hunt. I've been trying to research and find maps, do some e-scouting and establish some good areas I can check out. I have no problem walking far distances and am not shy of packing out a buck. But the truth is, I feel a little overwhelmed and I am having a hard time finding an area to focus on during my 3-5 day hunting window at the end of November.

I would be very grateful if anyone wanted to share some general advice on region 3, or even message me about some access roads/areas that I could check out. Of course I am not looking for anyone's magic recipe or spot, just looking for some mentorship and guidance as I don't have anyone to learn from or ask questions. Plus, I haven't spent any time there in region 3. I am more than willing to work hard for the chance of an encounter, and I truly love learning from others.