Thread: Crossbow questions from a newbie

Crossbow questions from a newbie

Hello everybody,

i am relatively new to bow hunting and was lucky enough to harvest my first Blacktail last season
    My current setup is a bulldog 380 shooting 475gr approx 340fps and worked great

So here is my question

1) i was thinking of upgrading to a bulldog 440 and shoot approx 450gr
    maximizing for my forever bow

I've heard about the possible Limb problems and understand the risk but feel if im using a heavy arrow it should reduce the risk and give me a little extra insurance. Giving me almost 160 ft/lb kinetic energy.

my second question is
    i have a opportunity to purchase a bulldog 400 is it worth it or should i just stick with my 380?

i understand most people have been suggesting the micro series except I'm not a small man and find i cant get enough eye relief and the bows feel really small when i shoulder them
    does anybody have any suggestion on extending the stock?

also any ideas of getting a adjustabke cheek piece

sorry for all the questions

2. Site Sponsor

Arrow Re: Crossbow questions from a newbie

Quote Originally Posted by jay1972 View Post
    So here is my question

1) i was thinking of upgrading to a bulldog 440 and shoot approx 450gr
    maximizing for my forever bow

I've heard about the possible Limb problems and understand the risk but feel if im using a heavy arrow it should reduce the risk and give me a little extra insurance. Giving me almost 160 ft/lb kinetic energy.

my second question is
    i have a opportunity to purchase a bulldog 400 is it worth it or should i just stick with my 380?

Does anybody have any suggestion on extending the stock?

Also any ideas of getting a adjustable cheek piece
    I have not heard of any issues with the Bulldog 440 as far as limbs are concerned.
    Excalibur did have a run of limbs that went south a couple of years ago, but appear to have quickly rectified that.