Thread: Kamloops area hunting-fall 2021- share cool stories, knowledge, observations, etc

Thumbs up Kamloops area hunting-fall 2021- share cool stories, knowledge, observations, etc

Hey,

Just wanting to hear from other hunters in Kamloops as to how there fall season hunting has been thusfar, perhaps share some advice/ observations, and in general, see how people fared.

I moved here for school from the WK, just this August. I am a new and enthusiastic hunter, this being my 3rd season- painfully, but also joyfully, self-taught. I really leaned into hunting this year as a newcomer to 'Loops, getting to know the area in a special way while also getting a good solid mental break from my studies. It has been another great hunting season in terms of learning, experience, and personal development.

I really enjoyed most of my time out there this year. I had heard that hunting was good here, and I was not disappointed. I saw more animals than I have seen in my previous seasons. I was surprised as to the amount of moose I ran into (including a really close encounter with a big bull!!). As well, this was my first season hunting mule deer, and I have to say that I flippin' love hunting mule deer now.

I am used to stand-hunting whitetail, and so I haven't quite wrapped my head around roaming and actively seeking animals. I would like to learn how to move better out there and also some more aggressive tactics for driving animals from cover.

I wish I had more time to explore different areas- I am keen on hunting by foot and love areas with open, scenic views to glass for animals, interesting topography to explore, etc. I would love to do a weekend hike-in-and-camp hunt next year (any suggestions?).