Thread: Sunshine Coast elk draw 2-05, zone A

Sunshine Coast elk draw 2-05, zone A

Good afternoon everybody. I was lucky enough to get myself an elk tag for the Sunshine Coast (my home) this year in 2-05 zone A. This is my first time ever hunting elk and I consider myself a fairly new hunter to begin with as it is. I have seen a herd by the Malaspina substation twice in the last week but have not seen a nice bull with them. They do have a tiny spike with them though. I've read through the past threads here on this subject, have sent an email to Darryl the wildlife biologist, and had a good conversation with a Conservation Officer. I have two weeks off work to make this hunt a success. I'm trying to make sure I soak up as much info as I can so I figured I would join this site and ask the question. Does anyone have any tips or pointers they would be willing to share with me? Anything helpful would be greatly appreciated as I realize this could be the only time in my life I get this chance and I really wanna fill this tag. Thank you all in advance. Rocky

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Sunshine Coast elk draw 2-05, zone A

Lots will disagree with me but i would say do not be too picky.If you get a chance at any decent bull take it. People think getting a rosie draw guarrantees you a monster bull, it does not. Good luck.

I agree with Quadra kid. We had a moose draw in another area. Passed on one on the first day and had to make two more trips. Needed up shooting a smaller one than the original one I passed on.

if you see it. Drop it

The flip side to Quadra's idea... is you have a golden ticket. Really think about it before you shoot. You may never have the chance at it again.
    in my mind, not necessarily yours but mine... Some draws really are "Trophy hunts" Rosie is the epitome of that... if you go out there and on day 1 you shoot a 5x5 its over. Moose hunts are meat hunts to me...