Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Ontario- moving to Kelowna.

Hello from Ontario- moving to Kelowna.

About me:
    Hello, I've been hunting and guiding in Ontario for a couple of decades-not new the the sport, but Ontario is not BC. Annually targeted species include waterfowl, whitetail deer, black bear, turkey.

I've just bought a place in Kelowna as i prepare to transition my life to the west-spending the next 2 years back and forth between the 2 provinces. I've lived in Vancouver, but never even been to Kelowna (arrive for the first time on OCT29, pending COVID rules)

Questions:
    1) is there a local gun shop that is favored where I can go and get local info/ buy a spare rifle/powder/primers/etc?
    2) whats a BC services card? is that like my Ontario Health card? reason for asking is because that's what I intend to use to apply for a resident hunters license.
    3) Is Kelowna predominantly anti hunters like downtown Toronto? -got a weird vibe from the real estate agents.

Thanks for any help.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Hello from Ontario- moving to Kelowna.

relastate people are lower scum than car salesman don’t read much into that.

1.) There are a few in Kelowna and area. Westside come to mind, and a few smaller outfits.
    2.) Yes it is our health care card. You will also have to sign up on line to get a FWID. Fish and Wildlife ID. There is an area on there that you have to attach a proof of residency. Can buy all your licenses and tags online then. Also apply for our yearly LEH, draw tags system from there.
    I think there is a 6 month residency to get going with your BC licenses. This year you might just have to opt for the more expensive non residence option if you want to hunt right away. Many seasons going into Early December for whitetail.
    3.) Only some. There are granola crunchers everywhere.

Nothing against the guys that each granola breakfasts while out hunting either.

Welcome to BC. almost.