Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you do for work

Hybrid View

What do you do for work

Changing the topic a bit.
    What do you guys do for work.
    the attached series of pictures shows the highlight of my career as a construction site superintendent.
    I spent 31 months on site as structural Superintendent building Vancouver house.
    I should add that I’m a red seal carpenter, now closing in on 35 years this coming May 2021.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F141687B-694B-48B6-AA38-7530F9D8E571.jpg 
Views:	289 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	8360   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4B0DE20C-001F-467D-8687-F2106523D8A6.jpg 
Views:	221 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	8358   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6D0398C5-9A53-42B6-B519-912505740990.jpg 
Views:	210 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	8359  
    Last edited by Leveraction; 04-18-2021 at 06:03 PM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: What do you do for work

Looks interesting, we'll see how it holds up in an earthquake.
    1. Human over population
    2. Government burden and overreach

This building is very unified in that it has a spine
    , It is vertically post tensioned to level 36 with 11 stands 3” diameter from underside of raft, 85 feet below street level to level 36.
    The structure from level 23 was built out of plumb ~ 20 mm floor over floor to the west to compensate for the weight of the superstructure growing to the east.
    It is anticipated the structure will find its equilibrium in 14-20 years
    the structure was also placed on the lot considering a detailed study of plate tectonics here on the west coast., meaning that we know which way the earth is gonna move if there is a big earthquake.
    it has a better chance of being hit by a meteor and falling over vs falling over in a seismic event .

Currently employed by WORKSAFE