Thread: Circle Hooks...to Bend or NOT to Bend???

Circle Hooks...to Bend or NOT to Bend???

So, I know I am somewhat new to the Saltwater aspects of Fishing, but not stupid either.
    I know Circle Hooks (mostly used for Hali Fishing) are not designed to hook up like J-hooks or similar,
    like is often the case, meaning "you set the hook".
    They are designed for the fish to swim away, and as the hook leaves the mouth, wraps around the mouth
    on exit and hooks up, thus setting the hook is a big no-no usually with Circle Hooks.
    Another advantage is that fish like Hali then do not end up swallowing the hook and it being set in their
    throats or deeper, thus making release if need be safer and easier.

BUT, I was wondering if many experienced Hali hunters still "bend out the hook" anyways???
    I looked at the Regs, and it appears it is "not illegal" to bend out the hook".
    Its just "not recommended".
    (If wrong, please let me know).

So, anyone still bend them out regardless?
    I know that Marlin Fishing during tournaments is not allowed for bent out hooks.
    They have to stay straight.
    But this is Hali and no tourny.

Just curious at how some go about it, and if bending out is common?
    I am thinking hook up is easier, but also more traumatic potentially for releasing or damaging Hali.
    Also want to know if i interpreted the Regs right?

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Circle Hooks...to Bend or NOT to Bend???

I've fished halibut both commercial longline and sport. Have never used them for sport. They work well baited on longlines because Halibut tend to suck the bait in and once we started using the circle hooks we caught more fish with less broken and straightened hooks. The other benefit was they were just about always hooked on the jaw so lower mortality when releasing them. I wouldn't want to use them for jigging but maybe a partial bend works, I've just never done it. Will follow this.