Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mechanical or fixed blade? Advice needed

Mechanical or fixed blade? Advice needed

Hey guys,

I've been shooting a bow for a while now (3 years). Just updated my sight to a fixed 7 pin. I'm committing to hunting bow only this year pending I don't get any amazing LEH draws.

Personally I would prefer to shoot a fixed blade because less moving parts means less that can go wrong in the field along with the other advantages however I think for the next year or so I want to shoot mechanicals simply because they're easier to tune (I don't have a bow press and have limited ability to shoot as often as I'd like or is necessary).

My draw length is 30 inches at 75 lb. Arrow weight is 450 grains with aluminum insert and 125 point. Can I get away with hunting black bear/moose with this setup?

Thanks for the advice in advance!

Best,
    Tony

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Mechanical or fixed blade? Advice needed

I would go fixed. A well tuned bow shoots more efficiently and mechanicals will fly good if your fixed are flying good. There are a few bow presses out there for under 100, some even backpackable. Do some reading and watch some reputable videos on bow tuning, Its not that hard just keep track of what you change so that you can always get back to original. When tuning for broadheads the most important thing I found was to spin test every arrow every time you swap a fixed onto it. Reject even the slightest wobble and maybe try that broadhead on a different shaft until every arrow with a broadhead spins perfect.

My opinion only, but you asked. I would stay with fixed. No question. Lots of reasons. But if you keep your distances closer than when you target shoot, performance becomes less of a factor. And, in 30 years of bowhunting with other bowhunters, I have tracked animals where the mechanical did not function as it should have. Like anything, if it's a moving part, it can be, that one more thing which may go wrong.

Another vote for fixed.