Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shooting sticks / tripods / bipods

Shooting sticks / tripods / bipods

Hi all,

I am in the market for an a field optic/shooting rest of sorts. Preferably a do all situation to keep pack loads light, and would appreciate hearing from peoples experiences in the field.
    Glassed up a solid buck last year during November, but blew my opportunity for a clear view due to buck fever and the shakes (fairly new self taught hunter). Just couldn't get my binos settled and confirm the 4th sticker or not so I watched him wander off.

Currently looked at the vortex tripods online but have heard they are somewhat flimsy. Seems they have a new line out although quite pricey - im ok with that, kinda of a buy once cry once person if worth it.
    Not huge on a rifle mounted bipod due to weight and imbalance when in timber
    Was looking at the primus shooting sticks, but have heard the trigger freezes in cold temps.

Anyone have a reliable favorite that they would recommend checking out? Or any major pro's/con's?

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Shooting sticks / tripods / bipods

I have a digi manfrotto that it quite light and pretty stable. it's old but still work for me. i also made my own DIY gun rest out of some pvc and soft rubber that clips into the tripod like the spotter.

Get a extendable hiking pole. Cabelas, comes with a fork type top as well as the regular round one. Serves two purposes..
    ".....It will be far easier to limit and undo the follies of a Trudeau government than to restore the necessary common sense and good judgment to a depraved electorate willing to have such a man for their prime minister......​"

BogPod
    You will not regret it!

I use a Sirui tripod and VA-5 head with an outdoorsman adapter for my binos. If I can't find a rest or shoot of my pack I can shoot off the tripod as is. That being said I have wanted to add a shooting yoke to my tripod for more control.