Thread: Mystery Ranch Sawtooth 45

Mystery Ranch Sawtooth 45

Looking for a day pack with the possibility of 1-2 overnights. Anyone have some real world experience with this pack? Negatives?

I'm 6'3 and 190ish lbs. Back issues and my size seems to fall right in the middle of a medium/large. Comfort is a priority over cost. Open to other bag suggestions as well.

I'm new to hunting and plan to use it for spring bear/turkey day hunts as well as general hiking (overnights will have a good base camp so no need to pack tent etc... for now). My real goal this year is to get one deer in the fall. I like the idea of being able to potentially add the beartooth bag and use the same frame down the line.

Is there a store in the lower mainland/Fraser valley/north/south Okanagan that stocks this model? Would love to try it on and don't need it for a few months. Thanks in advance.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Mystery Ranch Sawtooth 45

An update in my search for my first day hunting/up to two night hunting backpack:

It seems these Mysyery Ranch packs are not easy to come accross in the lower mainland.* Finding your size and colour choice in stock may prove difficult.

Valhalla Pure Outfitters (VPO) is the only listed retailer in the LMD for Mystery Ranch on their website.

The Vancouver and Squamish VPO had none in stock and the ladies I spoke to on the phone told me they never stock them.

The Abbotsford VPO had one Marshall in subalpine stocked last week but it's now gone. Super cool pack, but it's huge and not what I'm looking for at this stage. They told me they placed an order into Mystery Ranch that isn't slated to arrive until mid July 2021.* The order includes 5 Marshalls, 4 Beartooths, 4 Metcalfs, and 4 Sawtooths.* For those looking for next September, they could have a good selection of packs. Staff here were great to deal with and very helpful.