Thread: 3-19 Deer

3-19 Deer

Hey all!

Just returned from a two night pack back hunt up north of Merritt in area 3-19 on crown land. Came across a white tail doe, muley doe and a buck that wasn't legal at this time. I'm relatively new to hunting and went into this area totally blind aside from some online research. Also saw a ton of sign from moose (which mostly looked old) and deer both fresh and old. The land we were hunting is also grazing land for cattle up that way. What I would like to put out to all you out there is a few questions about the area and any experience from around there your willing to share!

Will the removal of cattle from the area back to their home ranches increase the chances of deer coming in?
    Cover ground over game trails or sit and glass? (we did a combination of both and our run ins with deer were while on foot through trails/beddings)
    What are the chances that non-legal buck I saw will still be there 9 days from now when he is then deemed legal?

Look forwards to any info you might be willing to throw my way! Feel free to shoot a PM.
    Happy hunting everybody

2. Site Sponsor

Re: 3-19 Deer

QUOTE=Hoffer;2199194]Hey all!

Just returned from a two night pack back hunt up north of Merritt in area 3-19 on crown land. Came across a white tail doe, muley doe and a buck that wasn't legal at this time. I'm relatively new to hunting and went into this area totally blind aside from some online research. Also saw a ton of sign from moose (which mostly looked old) and deer both fresh and old. The land we were hunting is also grazing land for cattle up that way. What I would like to put out to all you out there is a few questions about the area and any experience from around there your willing to share!