Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Calling in Elk

Calling in Elk

Hello HBC’ers. I’m looking for some tips from all the experienced hunters on here. I’ve hunted for over 30 years but I’m still fairly new to Elk hunting and learning as I go. I’ve been elk hunting for the last 5 years and wanted to ask you guys about what you suggest works best in our BC mountains for locating elk, and eventually calling in the bulls. (Other than glassing)

I’m not a road hunter (no offence if you are, all good by me) but I mostly hike in, glass, and put miles on the boots.

I have tried bugling and cow calling and was able to get a few bulls to respond to me but still haven’t been able to get one to come in close enough for a shot. I’ve hunted most of September for them, and it may just be me but I find they’re bugling less and less every year.

Any help is appreciated.

Cheers

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Calling in Elk

Once you hear the bull stick to cow calling chirps and very, very slowly head in the direction of the bull. Two different cow calls work best and even a hand held call and mouth call at the same time.

I find that when I get a response close the distance as quickly and quietly as possible. If I can get within 100 yards or so that is great. At this point I lik a challenge bugle but cow calls can also work. I keep working closer and closer to the bull.