Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: South Chilcotin Mountains Provincial Park

South Chilcotin Mountains Provincial Park

Hey!

I am looking for some knowledge on the area. I have a few questions that I would like to ask.
    I will not be asking where to hunt, more about the area and what to expect.

• Is it busy with mountain bikers in the first week of September?
    • Have you ran into Grizzlies often when you hunted here?
    • Any tips on where to setup camp in the alpine? Tuck into the trees or stay more in the open?
    • How's the water situation? I tried using google maps to find water sources but it's hard as the photos don't give a lot of information because of the time they were taken. (hoping there will be some standing water left over from the melted snow)
    • I am new to September Mule Deer alpine hunting, which facing slopes should I focus on in the morning and evening. It should be pretty warm during the day so I will assume North facing slopes during the afternoon.

I'm going in blind but excited to see the country for my first time. Thanks in advance for anyone who's able to help.

If you're comfortable with discussing the area in more detail, please leave me a comment and I will send you a Direct Message.
    Last edited by aamenta; 08-25-2020 at 11:19 AM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: South Chilcotin Mountains Provincial Park

Love it up there, it's insanely beautiful. I'm no expert, but I've hunted that country a bunch in September over the last handful of years.
    Yes there are bikers and hikers around the first few weeks of Sept, but maybe not where you'll find yourself. Double check your plan against an app like trailforks to assess trail locations.
    Yes to grizzlies, lots.
    Lot's of water in general, but be strategic about where you're camping to ensure access to water without a long hike. Water can be harder to come by in the alpine unless yr near a cirque.