Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bow Hunting Styles Region 8

Bow Hunting Styles Region 8

I am new to bow hunting in Region 8. I've been looking at tree stands; ground blinds; spot and stalk techniques for Mule deer. I am interested to know what everyone here prefer to do for deer in Region 8.

Cheers

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Bow Hunting Styles Region 8

Tree stand is, the most effective method to harvest deer. Any morning or afternoon in the stand can be very relaxing. The stand allows you to spend time in the stand visualizing the shot, minimize your movement, prepare for a shot as the animals move in, remain undetected until all the conditions for a shot are right. The tree stand increases your odds of a good harvest. The tree stand allows you to control so many of the variables.

The above is pretty accurate. However I'm going to counter with the idea that you should pursue the technique that is most enjoyable to you. Spot and stalk is my personal favorite, because it is almost the exact opposite of tree stand hunting. You don't get to preplan and eliminate variables but for the most part have to use the skills you aquire (through mostly heartbreak, stupid archery) to close the deal.

Spot and stalk also gives you access to more places that are not suitable to tree stand hunting.

Follow your personal preference on how you'd like to spend your days the succes will follow.

I am going to try both techniques. Been thinking about packing a tree saddle/climbing sticks with me while spotting and stalking deer. That would give me more options depending on the terrain.

practice practice practice..

even if its just into dirt in the back yard or a backstop in the basement shoot daily for a couple months leading up to sept 1

There is another alternative to tree stand or spot and stalk. That is a ground blind. It's a somewhat in between the 2. I have used all 3 methods with success. However, ground blinds remains my choice of preference, particularly for whitetail.