Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Asking for a friend - Livestock Guardians?

Asking for a friend - Livestock Guardians?

Hi all,

Making an inquiry for an acquaintance of mine. He runs a small hobby farm in the Okanagan and last night it sounds like a young cougar made its way into their pasture and killed a few animals. He contacted the CO and they chatted about it - I wasn't involved so I don't know what was discussed, however I know he doesn't want to take the "violent" route if he can avoid it. He asked if I knew where he could acquire livestock guardian dogs in BC?

Forgive my ignorance, I have no knowledge on this kind of stuff but figured this might be a good place to ask.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Asking for a friend - Livestock Guardians?

Great Pyrenees

you’ll never have another animal problem again.

I know a guy that has a livestock protection dog for his sheep. Works very well but it is clearly a work dog, nothing warm and fuzzy about it. Definitely not a housepet crossover. I don't think it is a Great Pyrenees but I don't know the breed.
    Is Justin Competent, or just incompetent?

Here is one

100 Mile House

https://www.facebook.com/freedomfarmbc/

There are lots of good livestock guardians, Anatolians, great Pyrenees, caucasian shepherds, hell even german shepherds.
    Each breed is different and bred for a different purpose.
    But the best thing is to contact each of the breeders you can find and find out from them what their dogs are good at.
    Some dogs are very aggressive (anatolians), some are pretty selective pyrenees etc.
    It all really depends on different situations. Size of property, structure, what's on it and so forth, what they are guarding against.
    Each dog is good at specific things, I don't think there is a dog that's best at everything.
    Also do you want one, or two dogs. At least two dogs is much better when guarding against dangerous animals, wolves, bears, cougars.
    Solo dog is really bait, if you ask me.