Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non-toxic Shot in the Lower Mainland

Question Non-toxic Shot in the Lower Mainland

Hey everyone,

I'm new to duck hunting, bought a shotgun, some decoys and some steel shot. My friend who was interested in starting with me inherited an old shotgun from his grandfather (I don't know the make and model but he says it can't shoot steel). He's currently looking for bismuth shot, and I've heard tungsten matrix works for the older shotguns as well. As for the specific model I'm not sure, but it is a 12-gauge 2-3/4 and has a fixed full choke.

My question is, where can I find these kinds of shot? I've looked at websites for Reliable Gun, Lever Arms, Cabela's (which I assume is similar to Bass Pro), Canadian Tire, Tiger Arms, West Coast Hunting, and the only place I've found bismuth is at Italian Sporting Goods.

I'm going to stop by there later this week and see if I can pick up a box or two for him, but are there any other places I should check out. I'm not ecstatic about the price, but I know being able to hunt ducks with his grandfather's gun would mean the world to him.

Thanks in Advance

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Non-toxic Shot in the Lower Mainland

grousetrap, ammunition flies off the shelf which is probably why you have trouble seeing information on the websites. I would suggest you first find out more about the shotgun by taking it into the store. Not many will be able to or have the time to give a good answer over the phone. Reliable and Italian are your best bets for in person advice on this. Tiger does not have the best selection of ammo. And I would avoid Canadian Tire unless you know exactly what you want.

Quote Originally Posted by grousetrap View Post
    Hey everyone,