Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2019 Buck & Season

2019 Buck & Season

What a busy year 2019 was! I figured i should post up a bit of the season.

I have been hunting this one area for 6 years now or so and have started to really get to know it, now having taken 4 deer (within a kilometer) out of this drainage. It is not a very large area and I believe most deer in this area to summer up high and winter mid to lower elevation

June:

A good portion of the deer in this area migrate into the sub-alpine for the summer/fall and again back down for the rut, so I am trying to find the main route they are using twice a year. The area showed a lot sign for May into June, so I hung a couple cameras and put out some salt. I had some does, a spiker and a four point i figured I recognized from a trail cam picture from last year. Come Canada day, no more photos so had a handful of deer hang out at this elevation before finally headed up for the summer. Both cams in this pic, one set on video worked, the other set for photo's did not. Not sure how to post video.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: 2019 Buck & Season

Got out for a bit of spring black bear 'hunting' which for me is generally more catch and release and just being out in the woods on my own time. Working in the southern interior one week, we had 2 days of snow/blizzard...... in June.... this happens some springs. At 3pm the one day the snow stopped and the clouds started to part, blue sky and sun was showing up. This means one thing - the bears will be out and about. Got back to camp, had a bite, took a shower then head up an FSR. The first place I would expect to start seeing bears and there is one right there. A small sow. So I keep on driving a couple hundred meters down the road, park, load up and double back through a cut to go have a look.