Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new leather boot break in

new leather boot break in

howdy - just picked up a new pair of scarpa kailash boots. Leather exterior, goretex, good sole. something proper for hiking and hunting.

what is a good treatment for the leather before i take them out? guy in the store recommended mink oil, but just wanted to hear what everyone else has been doing to keep their boots in good shape.

had my share of leather work boots, but never bothered much for maintenance on them, just beat them to crap until the next pair. in contrast, i want these new boots to last a bit longer haha.

thanks for the tips

picture of the boots:

2. Site Sponsor

Re: new leather boot break in

obenauf's
    atsko sno seal
    1. Human over population
    2. Government burden and overreach

Nikwax 100%. I have been using my scarpa escape GTX boots for well over 5 years and they're still in great condition.

obenauf's is what i use on my scarpa sl active

I've found Mink oil in, "Paste form" to be superior to everything that has been suggested so far.

Running Scarpa sl actives.
    He's anything but a hunter.
    More like another, Rain Coast Sociopath Fraud. Living off the prevails of his chronic lies, like the rest of them...

It's an issue, because these sociopath environmentalist's, will dilute the facts.
    To the point you or Joe public, won't know them any more..
    They count on that big time..

Quote Originally Posted by Ohwildwon View Post
    I've found Mink oil in, "Paste form" to be superior to everything that has been suggested so far.

Running Scarpa sl actives.

Heat boots up in the oven 200 f for a bit to start
    He's anything but a hunter.
    More like another, Rain Coast Sociopath Fraud. Living off the prevails of his chronic lies, like the rest of them...

It's an issue, because these sociopath environmentalist's, will dilute the facts.
    To the point you or Joe public, won't know them any more..
    They count on that big time..