Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lookin for a little spring TURKEY advice!

Lookin for a little spring TURKEY advice!

So, first off, let me say, obviously not a newbie here....been on here since the doors opened. In that time I have helped countless members with info on deer, bear, elk, moose in areas I know. have even personally taken many members to my best spots over the years in an effort to help them be successful. Heck, my buddy and I even packed a large bull moose 2 km out on our backs for a couple ladies from on here that I took out! I didn't do that so that someone would "owe me" something later, have really enjoyed meeting some fine folks from here and helping them out over the years.

However, That being said....I'm now asking the great folks here for a little help on a species i know very little about.

with my kids university schedule followed by his summer work schedule, we have a small window mid to late april to go "do something"....started thinking a week trying our hand at turkey hunting should be fun.
    So first off, i'm looking for a general area to go, decent areas to camp nearby is a big plus. would prefer not to be camping in the middle of a "tent city" and stumbling over other hunters all day. We definately are not afraid of using the boots to get where other hunters arent, but would have to be hike in/out and back to camp in a day as we are not equipped for "pack in" camping.

Anyhow, would appreciate any and all info you good folks can provide, general or very specific is much appreciated. Feel free to PM if you're willing to help out but don't want it on the open forum!

Aside from location....specific brands/types of calls, decoys etc and any tactics would also be much appreciated. Will be researching all I can over the winter, but I find "ask a successful hunter" to generally be the best way to gather good info!

more than willing to reciprocate with knowledge of region 5, 7a, and some 7b

Thanks all!
    Chris