Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help

Need help

I’ve been hunting for 3 years now and still haven’t been successful. When I go hunting in September I see lots of deer but by the time middle of October rolls around all the deer are gone. I’ve tried sitting, hiking and changing elevation but I just can’t figure it out. I have a hunting trip next weekend for whitetail and was wondering if anybody could help me out with some tips. Hunting in region 8 around 8-25 to 8-26

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Need help

Could be that they’re migrating out of the area or the pressure he caused them to stay in the timber. Throw a trail cam or 2 up and see if you get anything on cam

Honestly, I hate hunting in October for Deer.
    They are huntable, for sure, but as Fella just stated, it's the time of year of transition for lots of game potentially.
    I find when I hunt elk in Sept, that quite often bucks are bachelored up together and you can see up to 5 or 6 together sometimes.
    Which, can make it hard, because they are not all spread out, but rather together, so they are all in one spot, but then, as a hunter, are you
    in the "right spot" at the same time!!??

Now is a time when they begin to separate, start putting rubs down as they go into the rut.
    Try to put effort in by the late Oct or right at the beginning of November, imo.
    You will notice that a lot of big bucks are taken right then, every year, because they are "moving"!, not sitting and holding in a tight area.

Then come mid November, the rut is on, and if you are in the right spot, it's awesome.
    If not, you think the forest is devoid of game!!
    Again, then they are more "holed up", in an area.
    Although the bucks will travel large distances over night, going from one group of does to another group.
    Problem seems to be, they move at night!

But, if a doe is in heat, he will be on her "all day long" and be really stupid!
    But that doe being in heat is short lived,