Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hot weather and Black Bears

Hot weather and Black Bears

It's gotten pretty hot since my last outing for bears, and since I'm still fairly new to tracking them down, can anyone tell me how a hot spring changes their behaviour, if at all?

Best I could find reading on my own was mostly inconclusive, leaning towards no, but I would think a large animal with dark fur would overheat pretty quickly.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Hot weather and Black Bears

Seen bears out in the middle of the day +33, they were in the shade side of a pipeline just pigging out on grass. I don’t think it matters that much. Best part of the day for black bears is the last few hours of the day. Had great success on a hot day right before a storm roles in. AC/DC thunder struck on the radio for the win as the storm builds and the big boars are roaming...... right about this time of year.

Was hunting last few days them mid day 26C - 28C and seen plenty of bears. The trick is shady areas with food near water. It is very common for bears to go for a drink mid day. The bears are out there no matter how hot it is you just need to go where they are

Ya what wildone said. Find the shady areas or a creek and hunt around it they will be there just get above it and glass.

last year i think i saw 16 or 17 bears in an afternoon. it was 30+