Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Whatever it takes - Stone Sheep

Whatever it takes - Stone Sheep

Last year was my first hunting season in BC and it turned out pretty good. I have already shared my mountain goat and bear story but now its time to tell about the sheep. Hope you enjoy.

Whatever it Takes

Many years ago I came to terms with the reality that I would never hunt sheep, maybe mountain goats but that would be a stretch. I was OK with it and just accepted that's how it was going to be. Since I am a school teacher, my plan was to just get a job or even volunteer for a summer with an outfitter and that would be the closest I ever get to a sheep hunt.

Then, in the spring of 2016, after living in Ontario our whole lives, my wife said: "I think we should move". Wow, what a turning point in our lives. She said she liked BC but "I'll follow you anywhere". Yup, she's amazing. After thinking about cities in the Yukon and Alberta British Columbia was the obvious choice. I was lucky to find a job in Smithers, BC and by the spring of 2017, all the plans were in place to head off that summer. Since you need to reside in BC for 6 months before becoming a resident I knew the 2017 hunting season was out the window, but I was already planning for 2018. At our kitchen table, still in Ontario, I was talking my wife's ear off about what I was going to hunt. My plan was to start with mountain goats close to home and gain some experience then head north for Stone Sheep when I felt ready. My wife looked at me and said: "you have been dreaming about this for most of your life, how do you NOT start hunting sheep right away?". Didn't I say she's amazing? So the decision was made right there, I had never been to BC before and I was still living in ON but I knew that come August 2018 I would be hunting stone sheep as a resident of British Columbia.