Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mountain sleeping bag help

Mountain sleeping bag help

I'm just getting into backpack hunting and am trying to pick a sleeping bag. I'd like to get the Taiga 1001 Nights bag, but am unsure which temperature rating to get. Planning an alpine mule deer hunt early this fall, but would also like to use it around Kamloops later into the season.

The two options are -11C and -18C... the price difference isn't much between the two, and the -11C bag weighs 2.85 lbs versus 3.3lbs for the -18C one. Would I be better off saving the weight with the -11C and pack a liner if expected to be colder, or just go with the -18C bag and unzip when warm? I'm new to this so I really have no idea what to expect for temperatures and the bag to match.

Anyone using this bag that can chime in? Thanks for the help!

2. Site Sponsor

Pemby_mess Guest

Re: Mountain sleeping bag help

Weight becomes pretty important moving through the alpine. I'd go with the lighter of the two myself. Packing a bigger down parka when its cold, makes for a more versatile setup, and it's a real drag packing unneeded weight when it's warmer.

My personal experience. It hasn't gotten cold enough early season alpine were I hunt (Region 3). Maybe -2/3 a couple nights in 1st week of Sept. I have a -7 bag and I was plenty warm.

Now if you are going to be into late season with it then that's another story. If I were pack hunting in -11 I would be getting myself a Tipi and stove haha but I'm a wimp with the cold.

My advice -11 is probably plenty

I vote for the -11 also.

I use a -7 on my alpine hunts and it's more than enough. And we are well above the tree line around 2100m or closing in on 7000ft.

Just remember -11 rating does not mean you will be comfy in it at -11.

I would get the -11 and add a liner if you end up using it in the late season