Thread: rigging sockeye as bait for sturgeon

rigging sockeye as bait for sturgeon

Hi gang,

I'm a novice sturgeon fisherman and have some questions on how to rig up fresh sockeye for sturgeon

1. Heads - I got some heads off the smaller sockeye and chinook jacks. Can i go through the lower lip, through the mouth and bury the hook in the back somewhere?
    - What about bigger heads? Can they be split in half and used?
    2. Guts - Someone in the other thread said they go straight on the hook. Spider wire to hold it together?
    3. Roe - got some sockeye roe too ..... on its own only, or rig up into a bag together with the guts?
    4. Which actually makes the best fresh bait? heads? flesh? roe? I don't suppose heads and guts work as well as flesh and roe, right?

2. Site Sponsor

Re: rigging sockeye as bait for sturgeon

I use belly strips left over from filleting sockeye, hearts, guts (in a "roe bag" pouch), roe, and sometimes other pieces of trim from filleting the fish.

I put the roe in a bag if there are lots of course fish around pecking at it.

The best bait is the one they are biting. Always take a few different ones. If it is early in the run they like fresh bait. Late run they prefer stink bait from a floater.
    When socks are in the river, that is usually what the sturgeon key on.

A good tip for helping it stay on is use a bait loop and secure part of it in the bait loop (if you REALLY need to then use spider wire as well) and then after piercing the hook through the bait put a rubber bumper from a buzz bomb on the hook bend. Simply pass the hook through the bumper and leave it at the bottom of the bend. It helps keep the bait on the hook.

You dont need a big piece of bait to catch big fish. Ive landed fish over 6 ft on a single sockeye heart.
    Eat. Sleep. Fish. Repeat as necessary.