Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Getting started hunting - first $5000

Hybrid View

Getting started hunting - first $5000

I'm new to hunting, later in life. I have some money to spend and I want to do it right. I fully support the "Buy once, cry once" method of purchasing. I have experience shooting and own a number of firearms, so that isn't included in the budget. I will be using a Browning Xbolt in .270 with a Vortex Viper 3-9. I'll be starting with deer but would like to move up to elk/moose eventually. So the question I would like to pose to all of you experienced hunters is this:

Where should the next $5000 go?

Boots, pack, Merino wool? What are the most important items to have and what do you wish you had sooner in your career.

Thanks.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Getting started hunting - first $5000

Boots. If you have warm, dry and comfortable feet the rest of the day is easy.

After that depends on how what to hunt. Base camp with day trips, back country expeditions, etc. That will determine if money goes to a nice wall tent set up or lightweight packing gear.
    I don't shoot innocent animals... Just the ones that look guilty!

Is there a specific brand that stands out for boots?

Quote Originally Posted by Mulehahn View Post
    Boots. If you have warm, dry and comfortable feet the rest of the day is easy.

After that depends on how what to hunt. Base camp with day trips, back country expeditions, etc. That will determine if money goes to a nice wall tent set up or lightweight packing gear.
    Is there a brand that stands out for boots?

Quote Originally Posted by Louiedogg View Post
    The best boots are the ones that are comfortable and waterproof.