Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dismal year on the flow

dismal year on the flow

I would have to say the Chehalis fishery is at an all time low(for me anyway) the coho return was brutal, I fished it pretty hard even given the crazy fluctuating river conditions this year( up and down like a yo yo) dirty to crystal clear. But this is probably the first time I witnessed coho not taking natural chum roe, I used to hammer them on natural chum, I hit a few on double red but none on fresh, don't know why? I have yet to touch a winter run, I've heard of a few about 3 weeks ago, but have not witnessed any caught. I think the netting on the Harrison is destroying the Chehalis fishery, I've been fishing this system since 1992 and I cant believe it , Is this the same for anybody else?

2. Site Sponsor

Re: dismal year on the flow

that river(most) has been on the decline for a long time and the list of reasons includes netting and much more

All the reports I have heard makes the winter the worse one yet for fish....sad times for sure!

I am concerned that new anglers are going to feel so discouraged about the state of the salmon and steelhead fisheries that they will give up fishing altogether. The guys that started over 10 years ago or longer experienced much better fishing and developed a passion for the fish and conservation. Low angler retention = less advocacy and less advocacy = lower chance of pushing stakeholders for change.

Sad state indeed!

Quote Originally Posted by ajr5406 View Post
    I am concerned that new anglers are going to feel so discouraged about the state of the salmon and steelhead fisheries that they will give up fishing altogether. The guys that started over 10 years ago or longer experienced much better fishing and developed a passion for the fish and conservation. Low angler retention = less advocacy and less advocacy = lower chance of pushing stakeholders for change.

Sad state indeed!